Kabawa Reservations (NYC): OpenTable 14 Days Out, Not Resy, $150 Menu
George Yates · Founder, SeatSwiper · Updated October 24, 2026
SeatSwiper watches Kabawa on Resy, SevenRooms or OpenTable, then books it in your name the moment a table opens or someone cancels. First booking free.
Watch Kabawa for meKabawa is Paul Carmichael’s Caribbean tasting-menu room at 8 Extra Place in the East Village, and it went from hard to genuinely impossible almost overnight. Carmichael, the former executive chef of Momofuku Seiobo in Sydney, opened it in March 2025 in the old Momofuku Ko space, roughly thirty seats built around a three-course prix fixe that walks through the islands. Then the accolades landed in a pile: the No. 1 spot on the New York Times best-of-NYC list for 2026, Food & Wine’s Best Restaurant in America, a place on North America’s 50 Best. A tiny room does not get bigger when it wins Best in America; it just gets a much longer line. Here’s the honest guide to getting in, as of October 2026.
Kabawa reservations: OpenTable, 14 days out
This is the first thing that trips people up, so start here: Kabawa books on OpenTable, not Resy. That’s unusual for a room of this tier, since most of the city’s hardest tables live on Resy or SevenRooms, so if you’ve been hunting on the wrong app you’ve been staring at a page that will never have what you want. The restaurant’s own wording, on its page at momofuku.com, is short: “We accept reservations online through OpenTable 14 days in advance for up to parties of 8.” So the window is settled, and it rolls: each night a new date comes into range. What the restaurant does not state is the hour. Booking write-ups report the new date appearing around midnight Eastern, which is plausible for a rolling OpenTable book but is reported practice rather than Kabawa’s word, so check it once yourself: look at the OpenTable calendar just before and just after midnight and see whether the date 14 days out appears. A rolling daily window means you never wait long for another shot, but it also means the whole city is aiming at the same two-week horizon you are, every single night. If you’re unsure which platform a venue uses or how their release times differ, the mechanics live in the Resy vs SevenRooms vs OpenTable guide, and the general shape of a timed release is in when Resy reservations open.
SeatSwiper books it in your name the moment a table opens or someone cancels. First booking free.
Watch Kabawa for meThe accolade shock
Most impossible reservations are impossible for one steady reason. Carbone is pure demand; 4 Charles is starved supply. Kabawa is a different case: it’s a sudden-fame problem. A room this small was already a tough book on buzz alone after the Times ranked it fourth in June 2025, but the leap to No. 1 for 2026, landing at the same time as the Food & Wine Best-in-America honor, put it in front of every casual best-of reader in the country at once. Demand spiked against a fixed thirty-ish seats and a menu format that seats fewer turns than an a la carte room would. The practical effect is that prime weekend slots vanish the moment the nightly window rolls, and the seatings people actually get are the ones nobody else is fighting for. For where Kabawa sits against the rest of the city’s toughest books, including Semma and Tatiana, the NYC hard-tables guide has the full landscape.
Bar Kabawa is the real door
Here’s the most useful thing on this page, and it’s specific to this address. Next door, at 12 Extra Place, is Bar Kabawa, Carmichael’s daiquiri and wine bar serving Caribbean patties, raw-bar bites, and a compact list of drinks, open Tuesday to Saturday from 5:30pm to midnight. It takes what it calls “limited reservations online through OpenTable 14 days in advance,” and then says the useful part plainly: “we save room for walk-ins too.” The standing advice from people who’ve been is simply to show up. It is not the prix fixe next door, but it is Carmichael’s cooking and the same Caribbean point of view without winning any lottery. That quietly defeats the whole reservation war for a solo diner or a two-top: you don’t have to be awake at midnight or near the top of a list to eat this chef’s food, you just have to walk in. Two honest caveats. Weekend nights the bar fills fast too, so a Tuesday or Wednesday early arrival is far more realistic than a Saturday. And it is walk-in, so it’s first-come and never a sure thing; but for getting a taste of Kabawa this month rather than in three weeks, it’s the best free option here by a wide margin.
The seatings nobody fights over
- Aim at the shoulders. Kabawa runs dinner Tuesday through Saturday, 5:30pm to 10pm, and the war is prime time, roughly 7 to 8:30pm. The very first seating and the last seating of the night are the slots that survive the midnight window; if you can eat early or late, the room gets dramatically more gettable.
- Weeknights over weekends. A Tuesday or Wednesday is a different animal from a Saturday. The best-of crowd concentrates on weekend prime time, so the midweek edges of the book breathe, and the same goes for the walk-in room at Bar Kabawa.
- Two-tops first. Kabawa takes parties up to eight, but the smallest party sizes have the most inventory and the most cancellations. A two-top has meaningfully better odds than a larger table at the same hour, and it fits the counter seating best.
- Be exact when the window rolls. With a daily-refreshed 14-day book, the play is simple: know the date about two weeks before you want it, be on the OpenTable page the moment the new day appears, and reach for a shoulder slot instead of fighting for 7:30pm.
- Use the email route for special occasions. The restaurant lists a contact address (hello@kabawa.com) for buyouts and questions. It’s not a shortcut to a Saturday at 8pm, but for a milestone it’s worth a polite note.
Where cancellations actually surface
A book this contested still leaks. A three-course prix fixe at $150 a head, before drinks, tax, and tip (the price the restaurant lists as of October 2026), is a real commitment, and plans anchored to a specific date change; that’s exactly the kind of booking that gets released when a plan falls through. The honest pattern to watch is the day-before and same-day window, when confirmations firm up and no-longer-needed tables come back into OpenTable. The catch is the one every hard book shares: a cancellation can surface at any hour and get taken in seconds, so refreshing the app by hand almost never catches it, the same reason Resy Notify usually loses the race. Watching the book off-hours genuinely helps, but only if you can act in the seconds after a table appears, which is the whole problem.
Automating the watch
Kabawa rewards two things that are hard to do by hand: being exact when the 14-day window rolls each night, and catching a cancellation in the seconds after it surfaces the day before. SeatSwiper does both for you. It watches your dates and party size on Resy, SevenRooms, or OpenTable around the clock, and since Kabawa lives on OpenTable it’s squarely in range; it books the instant a table opens or someone cancels, whether that’s the nightly release or a Tuesday-evening cancellation. It books on your own account, in your own name, nothing resold. Set it once and go do something else; if you’d rather not wait, Bar Kabawa next door is still the best free door in this guide. First booking free, then a flat $5 only when it actually books you the table, no subscription. A cancellation watch costs $1 to start, charged when the watch begins even if no table opens, not covered by the free first booking and not refunded, plus the same $5 if it wins you the table. It can lose a race for a single seat and it needs your OpenTable account connected, so it’s a far better watcher than you are, not a guarantee.
FAQ
Does Kabawa use Resy or OpenTable?
OpenTable, not Resy, which surprises people since most of NYC’s hardest rooms live on Resy or SevenRooms. As of October 2026 the restaurant’s own page says it accepts reservations online through OpenTable 14 days in advance for parties of up to eight, so a Resy search or Resy alert for Kabawa will never turn anything up.
When do Kabawa reservations open?
Fourteen days ahead, on a rolling basis, per the restaurant’s own wording. It does not state the hour: booking write-ups report the new date appearing around midnight Eastern, so check once yourself by looking at the OpenTable calendar just before and just after midnight, then set your routine around what you see.
Can you get into Kabawa without a reservation?
The prix fixe dining room is hard to walk into, but Bar Kabawa next door at 12 Extra Place says it takes limited OpenTable reservations and saves room for walk-ins too. It serves Carmichael’s Caribbean cooking and daiquiris Tuesday to Saturday from 5:30pm, and an early Tuesday or Wednesday arrival is your most realistic same-week door.
How much does Kabawa cost?
As of October 2026 the restaurant lists a three-course prix fixe at $150 per person, before drinks, tax and gratuity. Dinner runs Tuesday to Saturday, 5:30pm to 10pm, at 8 Extra Place in the East Village. Bar Kabawa next door is the cheaper way to eat this kitchen’s food, ordered from a short menu of patties and raw-bar plates.